Glossary - Version 1 Home | Print Glossary     
image.gif
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
Glossary
A list of most common terms used in Navision.


A
Back to the top


B
Budgets
Class 1, 5 (Base house, Basement)

Once a lot is sited, an image of the budget for the house type (floor plan) is sent to NAV. If something changes on the lot (e.g. option selections, siting change, offer acceptance, purchase order creation), then each cost type is synced again.

From the first sync and afterwards, base costs are synced with the following precedence:
  • If there is a purchase order, use the number from the purchase order;
  • If there is no purchase order, use the current budget from the generic budget for the floor plan in that project (done on a cost type by cost type basis).
NOTE: If a cost type has a preferred vendor, the budget for the preferred vendor is used from the floor plan budget. If a cost type does NOT have a preferred vendor, the standard budget for the cost type is retrieved from the floor plan.



Class 3, 4, 11, 12, C (Options, Credits)

Once an option is added to a lot, at the time of option approval, the CURRENT budget/credit for the option is locked in for the lot. That number stays in effect for that lot except for the following cases:
  • If a purchase order is created, the amount in the purchase order, defined as cost/credit for the option, takes precedence;
  • If a purchase order is NOT created, the first budget locked in for the option stays in effect, unless the option changes in quantity; then the option budget is refreshed to reflect current costs.
NOTE: This is a common flaw with miscellaneous options. When a miscellaneous option is approved and LATER estimating pulls it into takeoffs, which generates a budget; the takeoffs and resulting budget is ignored until the purchase order is generated/refreshed that reflects the option costs.



M (MLot)

Lot Specific MLot budgets are stored lot by lot.  These budgets are created/updated by JC Update Lot MLot Budgets.  If a PO is created for the cost type of the MLot budget, the amount on the PO for the MLot class takes precedence.



Original versus Current for ALL classes

All budget changes are considered original UNTIL the earlier of construction start date and offer accepted date, plus "Original Budget Revision Days" is reached. (For AWH, Original Budget Revision Days currently is 7 days.)

Once that date is reached for a lot, all budget changes will only adjust the Current Budget column.



Late changes for ALL classes

When a lot closes, the budget is considered "locked" and can no longer change for any cost type, once the Title Closing Actual Date is entered. However, changes on the last day of entering the Title Closing Date have up to sync_stop_sending_lot_budget_days_after_closing (currently 2 days).
Back to the top


C
Back to the top


D
Back to the top


E
Back to the top


F
Back to the top


G
Back to the top


H
Back to the top


I
Back to the top


J
Job Job is the Navision word for 'Lot'.
Job Task Job task is essentially a cost type.
Back to the top


K
Back to the top


L
Back to the top


M
Back to the top


N
Back to the top


O
Back to the top


P
Back to the top


Q
Back to the top


R
Back to the top


S
Back to the top


T
Back to the top


U
Back to the top


V
Back to the top


W
Back to the top


X
Back to the top


Y
Back to the top


Z
ZUP File The ZUP file in Navision is the file where your personal settings are stored. For example, if you open a form in NAV and then resize it the new size will be saved in the ZUP file so that the next time you open that form you won't have to resize it again. This pertains to many things within the system, such as, the way your search window works, records you last viewed, column orders, column visibility, etc.. If you choose not to save the file, then anything you changed during the latest session will not be saved.

However any data within the system that you add or change will not be affected by this. It will remain changed regardless of whether you save the ZUP file or not.

In most cases, you would want to save the ZUP file to avoid having to do things again the next time you log on.
Back to the top
Updated November 28, 2013